

Cabinet

MINUTES of the OPEN section of the Cabinet held on Wednesday 2 July 2014 at 4.00 pm at the Council Offices, 160 Tooley Street, London SE1 2QH

PRESENT:Councillor Peter John (Chair)
Councillor Ian Wingfield
Councillor Fiona Colley
Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle MBE
Councillor Barrie Hargrove
Councillor Richard Livingstone
Councillor Darren Merrill
Councillor Victoria Mills
Councillor Michael Situ
Councillor Mark Williams

1. APOLOGIES

All members were present.

2. NOTIFICATION OF ANY ITEMS OF BUSINESS WHICH THE CHAIR DEEMS URGENT

No urgent items were identified.

3. NOTICE OF INTENTION TO CONDUCT BUSINESS IN A CLOSED MEETING, AND ANY REPRESENTATIONS RECEIVED

No closed items were identified.

4. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS AND DISPENSATIONS

There were no disclosures of interests or dispensations.

5. PUBLIC QUESTION TIME (15 MINUTES)

There were no public questions.

1

Cabinet - Wednesday 2 July 2014

6. MINUTES

RESOLVED:

That the open minutes of the meeting held on 18 March 2014 be approved as a correct record and signed by the chair.

7. DEPUTATION REQUESTS

There were no deputation requests.

8. DELIVERING A FAIRER FUTURE FOR ALL IN SOUTHWARK

The cabinet members outlined their portfolios and areas of priority and focus for the next four years.

RESOLVED:

- 1. That the mission, the new fairer future promises, the fairer future principles and the commitments of the council for the next four years be agreed.
- 2. That officers be instructed to develop a new council plan to deliver them.

9. APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2014/15

RESOLVED:

1. That the appointments to the outside bodies listed in Appendix A of the report for the 2014/15 municipal year be agreed as follows:

Age UK London

Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle

Better Bankside Board

Councillor Adele Morris

Canada Water Consultative Forum

Councillor Mark Williams Councillor Kath Whittam Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Lisa Rajan

Central London Forward

Councillor Peter John

2

Centre for Literacy in Primary Education

Appointment deferred until the next meeting.

Creation Trust

Councillor Mark Williams Councillor Lorraine Lauder Councillor Paul Fleming

Cross River Board

Councillor Mark Williams

Crystal Palace Community Development Trust

Councillor Jon Hartley

Greater London Enterprise Limited

Councillor Mark Williams

Groundwork London, Local Authority Strategic Input

Councillor Darren Merrill

Guys and St. Thomas NHS Foundation (Council of Governors)

Councillor Barrie Hargrove

Kings College Hospital NHS (Council of Governors)

Councillor Barrie Hargrove

Lambeth and Southwark Housing Association Limited

Councillor Richard Livingstone

Local Government Association (LGA) Urban Commission

Councillor Peter John (4 votes) Councillor Adele Morris (1 vote)

London Road Safety Council (LRSC)

Councillor Mark Williams Councillor Michael Situ

London Youth Games Limited

Councillor Barrie Hargrove Councillor Johnson Situ (Deputy)

North Southwark Environment Trust

Councillor Neil Coyle

Potters Fields Park Management Trust

Councillor Peter John Eleanor Kelly, Chief Executive

South Bank Partnership

Councillor Ian Wingfield Councillor Adele Morris Councillor David Noakes Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

South Bank and Bankside Cultural Quarter Directors Board

Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle

South Bermondsey Big Local Partnership Steering Group

Councillor Richard Livingstone Councillor Sunny Lambe

South London Gallery Trustee Limited

Councillor Cleo Soanes Councillor Mark Williams Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

South London and Maudsely (SLaM) NHS Trust Members Council

Councillor Barrie Hargrove

Southwark and Lambeth Archaeological Excavation Committee (SLAEC)

Councillor Bill Williams Mr Bob Skelly (Deputy)

Southwark Cathedral Education Centre

Councillor Cleo Soanes

4

Safer Neighbourhood Board (formerly Southwark Police Consultative Forum)

Councillor Michael Situ

Waterloo Quarter Business Alliance – Southwark (Business Improvement District)

Councillor David Noakes

10. NOMINATIONS TO PANELS, BOARDS AND FORUMS 2014/15

RESOLVED:

1. That the allocation of places to the panels and boards and forums set out in Appendix A of the report for the 2014/15 municipal year be agreed as follows:

Joint Partnership Panel (Trade-Union Consultation)

Councillor Peter John Councillor Fiona Colley

Leaseholders Arbitration Panel

Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Bill Williams Councillor Eleanor Kerslake Councillor Evelyn Akoto Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Anne Kirby Councillor Tom Flynn Councillor Anood Al-Samerai Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall Councillor Eliza Mann Councillor Hamish McCallum

Southwark Safeguarding Children's Board

Councillor Victoria Mills

Standing Advisory Council on Religious Education

Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Sunny Lambe Councillor Paul Fleming Councillor Maria Linforth-Hall

5

Tenancy Agreement Arbitration Panel

Councillor Lorraine Lauder Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Bill Williams Councillor Paul Fleming Councillor Evelyn Akoto Councillor Stephanie Cryan Councillor Jon Hartley Councillor Anne Kirby Councillor Hanish McCallum

Southwark Tenant Management Organisation Committee

Councillor Richard Livingstone Councillor Lucas Green Councillor Karl Eastham Councillor Sandra Rhule Councillor Ben Johnson

EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC

It was moved, seconded and

RESOLVED:

That the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in category 3 of paragraph 10.4 of the Access to Information Procedure Rules of the Southwark Constitution.

The following is a summary of the closed part of the meeting.

11. MINUTES

RESOLVED:

That the closed minutes of the meeting held on 18 March 2014 be approved as a correct record and signed by the chair.

Meeting ended at 5.05pm.

CHAIR:

DATED:

DEADLINE FOR NOTIFICATION OF CALL-IN UNDER SECTION 21 OF THE OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PROCEDURE RULES IS MIDNIGHT, THURSDAY 10 JULY 2014.

THE ABOVE DECISIONS WILL NOT BE IMPLEMENTABLE UNTIL AFTER THAT DATE. SHOULD A DECISION OF THE CABINET BE CALLED-IN FOR SCRUTINY, THEN THE RELEVANT DECISION WILL BE HELD IN ABEYANCE PENDING THE OUTCOME OF SCRUTINY CONSIDERATION.